top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTeam Canoe

Thoughts from a Seaside Walk

Laasya Anand, Varanasi



Warm, grainy sands that crackle

With every step.

Look into the horizon, pale and brilliant,

The Sun dips gingerly into the Ocean

And extinguishes.

How just 10 minutes can bring back

A lifetime of crackling sands and golden suns.

Five, frolicking in the balcony,

Scattering toys and books,

Not having a care in the world.

Look West, you'll see it over the trees.

Seven, playing with my sister,

Catching her as she falls repeatedly

And pressing my face into her cool, soft one.

Look West, you'll see it over the sea.

Thirteen, suitcases packed,

Heart tumbling around in my chest

As I bid farewell and roll up the window,

The flight ticket clutched tightly.

Look West, you'll see it over the hills.

Sixteen, nothing but books and deadlines outside

And uncontrollable music and art inside,

Trying to strike a balance.

Look West, you'll see it over the buildings.

When I open my eyes, purple and black

Are all I see.

The breeze cools the sand,

And the Ocean waves fret under the Moon's glow.

When I close them again, I see instead

A possibility, a hope

That I can be more than I was

And am.

And when I finally left the seaside,

That eternity I had spent there

Beckoned a limitless future.


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page