top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTeam Canoe

A Letter To My Younger Self

Kaamya Karthikeyan, Mumbai


Dear Kaamya,


You probably know all about me, because well, you’re me! But things have changed a lot in the past few years. The first shocker, you’re not in Vizag anymore. We transferred to Mumbai 2 years back. It isn’t the same, but I’ve gotten used to it. I am a teenager now, although I don’t feel any different, the world has totally changed!


Here comes the second shocker, Ready? I don’t physically go to school anymore—no one does! No, we don’t have an alien invasion. Well, sort of… Thing is, we’re two years into a worldwide pandemic! Just google the meaning, ‘cause I probably didn’t know it then. Anyways, things are hard. I haven’t gone to school in 2 years and I miss it more than you’d think I would. It’s super lonely to just sit in front of your laptop and listen to your teachers talking through the screen. You can’t even talk to your friends in-between the class because the chat is blocked! The teachers are actually tech-savvy! They just find a way to somehow not let us talk to each other. But, scientists have found a vaccine now, so things will hopefully get back to normal real soon.


Sometimes I miss how things used to be, but I have my friends to cheer me up. Sadly, I don’t have as many as before, but I got a workout partner, which means no more boring lonely runs! But don’t worry; I’m still in touch with your besties! Well, that pretty much sums it up. Just remember – the next 4 years are going to be the best ones of your life. Enjoy them while they last and anytime you need some advice, my mailbox is always open!


Yours truly,

You! (P.S. – Don’t check my letter writing format… I don’t remember it!)


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page