top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTeam Canoe

Dealing with Change

Kaamya Karthikeyan, Mumbai


I remember when you left, I glanced at you,

And my vision somehow blurred

It was actually really happening,

What I once thought was absurd!

We’d known each other for so long,

Still, it felt like it was too less

But like every other friendship up until now,

This too didn’t last long I guess

I know we said to keep in touch,

To call and speak each day

But you too had gone through this before,

So you knew that’s not the way

We grew apart; I know we did,

And it was a hard fact to accept

I remember the days when I couldn’t agree,

And I cried and whimpered and wept

But I had to move on, though against my will,

To new friends, new schools and new places

Our friendship was always on my mind and I know yours too,

But I guess we both couldn’t show it on our faces

But when I saw you across the street today,

I knew what joy truly was!

And when you too recognized me,

I was the happiest person in the whole cosmos!

I guess moving around had its own perks,

I got to meet you here again

And there was nothing awkward at all,

It was like we were again ten!

It’s true what they say:

Happiness is sitting across an old friend

And seeing that nothing has changed

Just for me, it’s with you.


124 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentarer


bottom of page