top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTeam Canoe

Why I Dislike Change

Sanjana Harbola


C- cannot

H- handle

A- anymore

N- not

G- gonna

E- exaggerate.


This morning I woke up to my mom shouting from the other room, “Arey Das baj gaye Aur yeh ladki abhi bhi soyi hai” (mind you it was only 7:45 -_-). Following the shouting came the lecture; “If you don’t CHANGE your ways, you will end up in a mess.” The only ‘ways’ referred to here was waking up early *rolls eyes*. This lecture is exactly from where I came to dislike the word CHANGE.


Some people thrive change. Most don’t (raises hand). The most evident example of change each and every person universally experiences is growing up. Contemplating seriously over this, growing up is a constant change in life and it cannot be steered clear from. We grow, we age. Ready or not, it happens and this is what I highly disapprove of because I am not ready. I was pretty happy as a toddler scribbling on papers and walls only to be termed “cute” and this very soon changed to scribbling and scratching out an entire page of the maths notebook because I copied +4 as -4 :’) I wasn’t ready for this. And the only consolation people have to offer is “life changes -we grow up”.


Back in the era when humans were still apes and hadn’t evolved, they were very cautious to explore any sort of change be it in their dietary patterns or habitat. They probably had the notion that anything unusual may pose a threat to them. I mean, can you even blame them? Living in a jungle I would believe the same. Change for them was synonymous with fear and they resisted it. And I am their descendant after all which is why in all likelihood I too believe a part of their theory. Change comes with uncertainty. Uncertainty comes with overthinking. With overthinking come negative thoughts. And negative thoughts lead to resistance. I’m not saying this happens round the clock but for a really unexpected change or something terribly new, there’s a teeny tiny part that thinks ‘what if-‘. In a life that seems to be going fairly well, I don’t like disrupting it with uncalled for negativity. Yet again there’s consolation with “life changes- it happens with everyone”.


Ab COVID hi dekhlo, (the “C” in which stands for change). It is probably the BIGGEST change of the century. Except for the cancellation of boards, I don’t think there has been a positive aspect about it. Take a look at the world's economy, it changed- and so changed that in one swoop it came down crashing. It has also put interpersonal relations and social dependencies to a serious test. Isolation, quarantines, travel bans, no handshakes or hugs – these are all leading to a change in our attitude towards other people. These changes might seem normal, now that we are used to it (to some extent) but on a larger scale, these have serious consequences. To summarise all that’s been said above- change leads to more negative repercussions than positive.


Changes come in all shapes and sizes. From changing of bench partners in class, to shifting to a new place due to transfers. Some good, some bad. Some get worked up about changes, some don’t. Ab apna apna perspective hai. Like right now, My parents want me to ‘change’ into nightwear and sleep *sighs*


Until next time buddies *sends a crisp salute your way*



38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page